Logo der Universität Wien
You are here:>University of Vienna >ELI

Young Lawyers Award Brochure - click and download for all relevant information

ELI European Young Lawyers Award was officially launched at the Annual Conference 2016. The goal of this award is to provide the young European legal community with a mechanism to propose practical suggestions for the improvement of European law, as a way of giving voice to the future European legal experts and to help the ELI in fulfilling its core mission of improving the quality of European law. The award is supported by the ELI and other appropriate participating institutions.

Applicants must be students enrolled at a European university currently undertaking a university law degree, whether undergraduate or postgraduate; or contenders who are within five years of being awarded a law degree at the date by which entries must be submitted and be knowledgeable in English.

Candidates must submit a unique and original paper which was not previously published and is dealing with a European legal issue that could be improved. The contribution can be submitted in any of the EU official languages along with the English translation. You can find more detailed instructions, including the Style Sheet template, below.

The Jury of the ELI European Young Lawyers Award is comprised of the ELI and other appropriate participating institutions. It is selected by the ELI Executive Committee every two years.

The awarded candidate will be invited to present his/her paper at the ELI Annual Conference.

The ELI will further cover his/her accommodation and travel expenses up to EUR 1.000. This will provide the winner with an opportunity to meet and greet some of the world’s leading law experts and exchange ideas with them.

In addition, the winning contribution will be published on the ELI website and its author will be awarded with two years of free ELI fellowship, which will allow this person to be involved in Special Interest Groups, present project proposals and participate in the Members Consultative Committees of the different ELI projects.


The papers had to be submitted by 30 April 2017, 8pm CET.

Jury 2017:

The following Jury members are currently reviewing the submitted entries:

  • Robert Bray: Jury Chair, Head of Unit, Committee on Legal Affairs of the European Parliament
  • Sabino Cassese: Former Italian Constitutional Court Judge and Professor of Administrative Law
  • Katharina Miller: 3C Compliance, SL (Founding Partner), European Woman Lawyers Association (Board Member)
  • Diana Wallis: ELI President
  • Reinhard Zimmermann: Professor and Director of the Max Planck Institute for Comparative and International Private Law

This year's winner will be revealed at the end of July 2017.