Council Standing Committees

In accordance with Article 10(6) of the ELI Statute, the Membership Committee (MC) and the Fundraising Committee (FC) were established as standing committees of the Council and entrusted them with the tasks specified below.

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee was established by Council Decision 2011/11. The Council has delegated the following tasks and powers to the Membership Committee:

  • To develop a structured policy for the recruitment of new members, in particular for targeting underrepresented countries, disciplines and professions
  • To negotiate, as far as necessary, membership fees with institutions  
  • To decide cases of doubt as well as advise the Secretariat in dealing with difficult requests

Current Members

  • Teresa Bielska-Sobkowicz
  • Robert Bray
  • Georges Cavalier
  • Andra Cotiga
  • Daria de Pretis
  • Nada Dollani
  • Paul Gilligan
  • Stefano Giubboni
  • Tatjana Josipović 
  • Ana Keglevic Steffek 
  • William McKechnie
  • Matthias Neumayr
  • Pascal Pichonnaz (Chair)
  • Meliha Povlakić
  • Teresa Rodríguez de las Heras Ballell
  • Jens Scherpe
  • François Trémosa
  • Christian Twigg-Flesner
  • Aleš Zalar
  • Irina Zlătescu
  • Fryderyk Zoll

Fundraising Committee

The Fundraising Committee was established by Council Decision 2011/14. The Council has delegated the following tasks and powers to the Fundraising Committee:

  • To sound out ways to attract additional funds for the work of ELI from sources compatible with the principle of independence
  • To support and advise the Treasurer in matters concerning the financial situation of ELI 

Current Members

  • Francesco Avolio
  • Robert Bray (Co-Chair)
  • Georges Cavalier
  • Mario Comba
  • Laura Guercio
  • William McKechnie
  • Denis Philippe (Co-Chair)
  • Fausto Pocar
  • Aneta Wiewiorowska-Domagalska
  • Aleš Zalar
  • Fryderyk Zoll