Executive Committee Elections 2019


On 5 September 2019, the newly composed ELI Council will elect a new Executive Committee, which will consist of the President, two Vice-Presidents, the Treasurer and three ordinary members. 


For detailed information on the election procedure kindly consult the ELI Statute and Election Byelaw. A summary is available in the Elections Brochure.



President, Vice-Presidents and Treasurer


In addition to the non-binding recommendations of the Search Committee any Council member may nominate herself/himself or other Individual Fellows for the positions of President, the two Vice-Presidents and the Treasurer by submitting the nomination(s) to the Council. To do so, please send an email with the nomination to the ELI Secretariat (elections@europeanlawinstitute.eu) by 7 August 2019.


The search committee unanimously proposes the following candidate:

Christiane Wendehorst (for the position of President)

Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd (for the position of first Vice-President)

Pascal Pichonnaz (for the position of second Vice-President)

Denis Philippe (for the position of Treasurer)



Three Ordinary Member Positions


Any Council member may nominate herself/himself or other Council members for the positions of the three ordinary members of the Executive Committee by submitting the nomination(s) to the Council at the latest, at the meeting of the Council on 5 September, where elections will take place. Prior nominations can be sent to the ELI Secretariat (elections@europeanlawinstitute.eu).


The elected candidates are members of the Executive on the condition that they accept their election. If a candidate is not present at the elections, he or she should file their anticipated declaration of acceptance below with the Secretariat prior to the elections.