Dispute Resolution SIG

Dispute Resolution SIG

The ELI Dispute Resolution SIG was established in mid-2015 and is currently chaired by Thomas Pfeiffer and Stefaan Voet. The SIG assesses themes such as investor-state dispute settlement (ISDS) and the search for further activities; the relationship between domestic courts and ISDS tribunals; the improvement of the establishment and functioning of arbitral tribunals: requirements for arbitrators; appellate mechanisms; the experience of other similar bodies with a hybrid structure; and mechanisms of the World Trade Organisation (WTO), EU-Canada Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA), the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) and the Iran–United States Claims Tribunal.

To join the SIG, please get in touch with the ELI Secretariat.

For the list of SIG's Chairs and Members, please click here.



Meeting During the 2018 ELI Annual Conference in Riga

The meeting took place on 7 September 2018.


Meeting During the 2017 ELI Annual Conference in Vienna

The meeting took place on 8 September 2017.


Meeting in Leuven

After previous meetings in Wiesbaden and Ferrara, the ELI Dispute Resolution SIG held its third gathering on 28 April 2017 in Leuven. The meeting was hosted by Professor Stefaan Voet from KU Leuven...


Meeting During the 2016 ELI Annual Conference in Ferrara

The Meeting took place on 8 September 2016.


Dispute Resolution SIG Meeting in Wiesbaden

The meeting took place on 19–20 February 2016.