Following a change to the ELI Statute in September 2019, the Council now consist of a maximum of 56 members, elected by the Membership from among Individual Fellows in a way that adequately takes into account the general principles of the Association. It is the Institute's management body. The current ELI Council is composed of 55 elected members, namely:

Ex-Officio Council Members

In addition to the elected Council members, the ELIPresident, the two Vice-Presidents and the Treasurer become ex-officio members of the Council from the moment they take office.

  • Christiane Wendehorst
  • Lord John Thomas
  • Pascal Pichonnaz
  • Denis Philippe

Further, up to 10 ex-officio persons can be offered ex-officio seats on the Council. The following have been conferred that title:

  • President of the Council of Bars and Law Societies of Europe (CCBE), José de Freitas
  • President of the Council of the Notariats of the European Union (CNUE), Pierre-Luc Vogel
  • President of the European Land Registry Association (ELRA), Fernando de la Puente
  • President of the European Network of Councils for the Judiciary (ENCJ), Kees Sterk
  • President of the International Union of Judicial Officers (UIHJ), Marc Schmitz
  • President of the Network of the Presidents of the Supreme Judicial Courts of the European Union, Jean-Claude Wiwinius

Council Documents

In accordance with Article 10(12) of the ELI Statute, minutes of the Council meetings and decisions taken by the Council are published on the ELI website. Council Decisions (CD) have a reference number indicating the year and decision number.