Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is the ELI's administrative body, consisting of the President, the Vice-President (from September 2019 of two Vice-Presidents), the Treasurer, and four (from September 2019 on three) ordinary members.



Christiane Wendehorst is Professor of Law at the University of Vienna (Austria). She is a member of the American Law Institute, the Academia Europea, the Austrian Academy of Sciences, the International Academy of Comparative Law and several international research groups. Wendehorst is one of the Founding Members of the ELI and has previously served as Treasurer and Vice-President.


Sjef van Erp is a Professor of civil law and European private law at Maastricht University (The Netherlands), where he teaches foundations of Ius Commune, comparative, European and Dutch property law. He is also deputy justice at the Court of Appeals in ‘s-Hertogenbosch.  He is a member of the American Law Institute. Professor Van Erp is one of the ELI’s Founding Members.


Denis Philippe is Professor at the University of Louvain and Visiting Professor at the University of Paris Ouest. He is a lawyer at the Brussels and Luxemburg bar and managing partner of Philippe & Partners. He is one of the ELI’s Founding Members.

Ordinary Members

Anne Birgitte Gammeljord is a practising Danish Supreme Court lawyer. She is assistant lawyer in insolvency matters at the Maritime and Commercial Court in Denmark. She previously served on the Disciplinary Committee of the Danish Bar and Law Society and as a member of the Council of the Danish Bar and Law Society. She was President of the Council of Bars and Law Societies of Europe (CCBE) in 2009 and has been a Member of the ELI Council and its Membership Committee since 2012.

Raffaele Sabato is a Justice at the Italian Supreme Court of Cassation. He was appointed as a judge in 1991. He also published and lectured widely on issues in civil, international and EU law, procedural law, mediation and judicial ethics. As an expert of the Council of Europe, he has taken part in initiatives aimed at promoting reforms in legal systems. Mr Sabato has also served as member of the Consultative Council of European Judges since its start in 2000, having been its Chair for two years. After being elected in January 2019, he will take office as judge of the European Court of Human Rights in May 2019. He has been a Member of the ELI Council since 2015.

Sabato is no longer an active member of the Executive Committee beginning 6 May 2019 as he took office at the European Court of Human Rights.

Hans Schulte-Nölke is Professor of Law and Legal History at the European Legal Studies Institute at the University of Osnabrück (Germany), and Professor of Law at the Radboud University Nijmegen (The Netherlands). He is the author of several books and of a large number of articles in several European journals. He regularly advises committees of the European and the German Parliaments as well as national ministries and international organisations. He was also elected to the Academia Europaea in 2016 and is one of the ELI’s Founding Members.

Lord John Thomas was a practising barrister in England and Wales until 1996, a Judge of the High Court and Court of Appeal of England and Wales (1996–2013) and then Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales (2013–2017). He was President of the European Network of Councils of the Judiciary (ENCJ) (2008–2010). He is Chairman of the Welsh Government’s Commission on Justice in Wales, Chairman of the UK Financial Markets Law Committee, Chancellor of Aberystwyth University (from January 2018), an Honorary Fellow of Trinity Hall, Cambridge and a Fellow of the Universities of Bangor, Cardiff and Swansea. He is one of ELI’s Founding Members.